Three Tips to Tap into the Spirit of Creativity

Standard

Image

Rumi Series “Spirit” by Patricia Robin Woodruff 11″x14″ mixed media: ink, acrylic, collage

There is a certain “flow” or channeling of the creative energy that happens when a person is deeply immersed in their art (be it painting, writing or even computer programming.)  A sense of time disappears, as well as even a sense of self.  There is nothing but you and your creation.

While this zen state can not be forced, there are ways to make it more likely to happen:

1) Ritual – Creating a certain ritual before embarking on your creative efforts can help.  My friend, Barb Baur is a jeweler.  Before working, she lights her candle and says a prayer to the patron deity of inspiration and metal smithing, Brigid.  The candle is a practical device for her to light her oxy/acetylene torch from, but it also prepares her mentally for being receptive to the creative flow.

2) Engaging the senses – Many people find painting to music helps them create.  I find that the scent of incense is a powerful tool to transform my thinking from the mundane to the receptive artistic state.  It also helps to surround yourself in beauty.  Beauty begets beauty.  Beautiful surroundings makes it more pleasant to enter your writing space, or studio.  When we are happier, it is easier to be in touch with that joyful spirit of creativity.

3) Affirmations – Doubt and worry are like fats that clog the arteries of inspiration.  Changing your thinking patterns to good healthy thoughts will let that creativity flow!  I write down positive things that people have said to me and then I tape them up around my desk.  I also hang inspiring sayings and quotes around my office, as reminders to myself.

Next time you sit down to create, try some of these tips and start with this affirming thought:

“I am open to the energies of the Universe/Spirit/God.  Fill my mind and flow through my hands.”

 

2 thoughts on “Three Tips to Tap into the Spirit of Creativity

  1. Judy

    I used to do a little painting and also found I got into a sort of “zen” state when four hours would have passed and I thought it had been only about one hour … That was great.

Leave a Reply

