Refilling the Well of Inspiration

Standard

This time last year, I was on the island of Ponza.  I had been studying art in Rome since January and my soul was longing for release from the city noise and pressure of people.  A friend of a friend mentioned the island of Ponza (which I had never even heard of!)  It is often used by the Italians as a get-away, but in April it was still very much “off season.”   A train ride out from Rome and then a ferry out from the town of Formia put me on this beautiful, peaceful island.

Image

The view from my balcony overlooked an amazingly clear blue bay.  I was looking down on the seagulls flying below!  The other side of the bay was topped with a crumbling 14th century fort (which, of course, was explored on the first day!)  It was surrounded by golden flowering gorse bushes and the hum of busy bees.

Image

The next four days were spent hiking up and down hills in the quaint little town, as well as around the wild parts of the island.  I swam in a 2000 year old “swimming pool” carved from the volcanic rock by the Romans, sailed around the grottos and cerulean blue waters of the island and basked in the gentle sounds of nature.

My goal in Rome was to produce 5 paintings a week, and while I didn’t actually do any paintings here on this island, just the thought of it filled up my soul.  When I came back to Rome, it inspired me to a flurry of artistic activity.  You don’t have to travel as far away as Ponza, but as a creative soul, beauty is necessary to create.  If your soul is sapped by your surroundings, it is important to “refill the well” of your creativity.  Find a place of beauty to renew yourself; a cathedral, a park, a walk on the beach… We cannot keep pouring out unless we refill ourselves.  Find a place to refresh your spirit and it will spark your creativity in amazing ways!

6 thoughts on “Refilling the Well of Inspiration

  1. Hi Patricia, We have so much in common in addition to our love for the arts, as I just returned from my trip to Barcelona, Spain, and last summer I traveled to Corsica, France and Cinque Terra, Italy! Blessings of love to you, Brooke

  2. Wow it looks so amazing! I am heading to Ponza in a few days myself! Do you have any tips or must sees?? I can barely find anything online, it’s such a small and secret island! Your pictures are beautiful!

    • Ponza is amazing! To see the impressive temple, Ggantia (the largest one) on the island of Gozo take the earliest morning ferry, get there first thing and avoid the crowds. The Archeological museum on Gozo and on Malta are both really worth getting to.

      There is also the tattered remains of Bugibba Temple in the courtyard of the Dolmen Hotel. You can just walk into the courtyard and visit it yourself. Although it only has the middle archway left, it’s the only temple where you can touch and really connect with the temple space with no guards around, so it’s still a really neat experience. The duel temples of Hajar Qim and Mnajdra were probably my very favorite. Set near the sea and surprisingly intact, I could’ve spent several hours just meditating there.

      If you are headed there in a few days, I hope you got your tickets to the Hypogeum, because they are booked solid.
      https://booking.heritagemalta.org

      Make sure you eat a ricotta pastizzi pastry snack and drink a Kinnie herb-spiced orange soda, for a truly Maltese experience.
      Have a WONDERFUL time! I want to get back there someday!

      One of these days, I’ll do a more in depth post of my experiences with the temples of Malta.
      – Patricia Robin Woodruff

    • Silly ‘ol bear! I just told you all about the island of Malta, which I also visited over that trip.

      Ponza is more scenic and so relaxing! We chartered a tour around the island on a boat and even though the tour guide only spoke Italian and I could catch one word in ten, it was still marvelous. We visited Circe’s cave and got to go into the shining blue grottos, also Pilato’s cave which was carved by the Romans. The view of the island by boat is spectacular!

      It was worth walking down the steep hill (where the bus drops you off) to Frontone Beach and the Roman bathing pools there, hewn from the solid volcanic rock. We went totally off season and had the pools to ourselves (which was fabulous.) There was also a cute museum there but it was closed. (The drawback of off season.)

      The bus is very convenient and does a nice little circle around the entire island every hour. You can use it to get close to Port Papa, a 14th center fort that you can just climb around and explore. From the point there, you can gaze out in wonder at the Tyrrhenian Sea. So beautiful!

      Hope you’ve brushed up on your Italian because we only came across two people who spoke English, but we managed pretty well with our smattering of Italian and the people are SO nice.
      Have a wonderful time!
      – Patricia Robin Woodruff

Leave a Reply

