Where does inspiration come from?

Standard

OpenHandsNecklace

This pendant holds a miniature reproduction of my pastel, “Open Heart, Open Hands.” This symbolized to me, when the emotion pours from a joyful, open heart it flows out to action in our hands. We give to others, we create good things for others. That joy flows forth into the world.

Inspiration comes from many different places and this came to me when I was sitting in the hot tub and the water was foaming all around my heart and I thought of the imagery of water being a symbol of emotion. Then I thought of a hand cupping the water, helping it pour forth. Since I was alone at the time, I ran inside, and stood in front of a mirror naked and dripping wet with a digital camera, trying to take a reference photo but it’s incredibly hard to take a photo of both hands.

So I thought, aha! I’ll run over to the organic food store. I’m sure to bump into a friend who will be a good sport and model for me! (I DID remember to put my clothes on. I’m not as bad as Archimedes!) I found a local waitress that I knew, so there we stood in the store, as I asked her to stand with her hands in various positions while I took photos. Thank goodness for good sports who put up with crazy artists!

I do agree with Richard Bach on where ideas come from:

Where do I get my crazy ideas? Answer: sleep-fairy, walk-fairy, shower-fairy. Book-fairy. And in these last few years, from my wife. Now when I have questions I ask her and she tells me the answer. If you haven’t already, I’d suggest you want to find your soulmate, as soon as you can. – Richard Bach

This art is credited to the hot-tub-fairy. – Patricia Robin Woodruff

Leave a Reply

